CSA Recipe #6 – Fresh Rhubarb Mini-Pies

[NOTE: I totally forgot to schedule this one to go up, but I figured that I might as well publish it late and round-out the CSA challenge (it wasn’t really a challenge).]

Along with the strawberries, choosing the rhubarb was a no-brainer choice of all the CSA offerings.  There are lots of other recipes out there for rhubarb, but now that I can make pie I want to make pie ALL THE TIME!

A while back I bought a kitchen scale and it was a fantastic purchase.  I had no idea how much I would use it.  So after cutting up my rhubarb I measured it on it the scale.  I had almost 200g – barely 1/3 of what my recipe called for (which was already less than the original recipe needed).

Never one to be deterred, I cut the filling recipe down to 1/3 and decided to make 2 small pies.  I made the full crust recipe, though, so I still have some left-over crust in my fridge for more pies or quiches.

Rhubarb and Vanilla Pie Recipe Found Here!

Notes:

  • Fresh rhubarb is different to cook than frozen, but it took about the same amount of time to make the filling (about 20 mins).  I’d keep going ‘Is this done already?’ and then waiting and then going ‘Oh, no it totally wasn’t done. But is it done now?’.
  • Do the egg wash because your pie will look a lot better. A trick, if you have extra crust, is to use the left-over egg to make quiche.
  • I used a thicker crust than normal for the bottom of the pies because I wanted them to hold their shape outside of the tin.
  • I can lattice really well when it’s only 4 strips.  Someday I may work my way up to 9.
Leave a Reply

