CSA Recipe #1 – Carrot Top Pesto

One thing I dislike about recipes is the tendency to be vague (how big is a pinch and what’s a knob of butter?).  It’s okay to cook with instinct, but what if you don’t have any instinct?

The recipe I found for Carrot Top Pesto said that you need the greens from 1 bunch of carrots. What does that mean? How many are in a bunch? Why is there no weight measurement?

When I made this I decided to half the other ingredients, just in case. I only had about 7 small carrots, so I wasn’t sure if I would have enough greens. Turns out I had enough for the full recipe.

Also, I discovered that my food processor attachment doesn’t work that well. The blades don’t go far enough out to the sides so there were still some stalks and leaves left in there and it was chunkier than normal pesto. I also didn’t measure my lemon juice (I didn’t have a lemon but I had some juice so I poured it in until I thought ‘good enough’ – see, even I’m guilty of vagueness!). It was quite lemony, but luckily I like things tart.

Carrot Top Pesto

  • greens from one bunch of carrots (8ish?)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • juice of 1 lemon (1 Tbsp maybe?)
  • 2 cloves of garlic

Wash and dry greens. Pulse in blender with other ingredients until it becomes a pesto-like consistency (or, if you’re like me, until you’re tired of trying). If it’s still pretty pulpy, add a bit more olive oil.

End Result: I spread this on a piece of bread and it was delicious – lemony, garlicy, and green. The next time I buy carrots I’m going for the ones with tops.

pesto2

One thought on “CSA Recipe #1 – Carrot Top Pesto”

Leave a Reply

