Don’t Forget Your Pencil

While towels* can be very useful in the kitchen (the amount of times I wash my hands or spill something would surprise you – or not), I always make sure that I have a pencil nearby when baking.

Whenever I make a recipe for the first time, I always treat it as a trial run.  What works perfectly for someone else might not work for me.  Maybe it’s too salty or not sweet enough for my taste.  Or maybe I completely misunderstood the instructions and need to write it a different way so that there are no misunderstandings in the future.  Or maybe I had a thought about a fun ingredient to add to it.  Whatever it is, I make a note of it in the recipe to be better prepared next time.

So here’s to the recipes I need to make a second time (Salted Chocolate and Caramel Tart), the recipes that don’t require modification (Chocolate Chip Cookies), and the recipes I just can’t get right (Wheaten Bread**).

Pencils ready!

*see: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)

**this bread will be the death of me

Leave a Reply

